A REFURBISHMENT to Oldmeldrum’s popular Glen Garioch visitor centre has just been completed, in a move which owners hope will succeed in attracting even more visitors to the distillery.
The £40,000 refurbishment, carried out by cabinet maker Alan Hume and digital imaging company Signpost, has, according to the owners, been designed to ‘stay true to the character and integrity of the 18th century distillery’.
The thick granite stone of the distillery presented a tough challenge for the refurbishment team. However, bespoke solid oak cabinets and shelving units were created by the Alan Hume craftsmen to complement and fit with the surroundings in the Visitor Centre.
Imaging company Signpost was also commissioned to create information panels throughout the distillery to describe the whisky making process and relay historical information, in English as well as in Doric.
Anne Kinnes, Head of Visitor Centres for Morrison Bowmore, said: “The refurbishment has successfully brought the history and local character of Oldmeldrum and Glen Garioch to life offering visitors an improved experience of a real Highland distillery that has survived for almost 200 years.
“As Aberdeenshire’s single malt, Glen Garioch is proud of its Doric heritage and this has been reflected in the new design. The tour experience now gives a real flavour of the distillery’s roots.
“The 18th century buildings needed the utmost care and respect to ensure any modern refurbishment was in keeping with its character and the teams involved have delivered to the highest standard.”
The distillery, which is the most easterly in Scotland, welcomes over 6,000 visitors each year to the centre, which is housed in the original cooperage. Founded in 1797, Glen Garioch was relaunched in 2010, and now produces a core range of two malt whiskies.