Around the N-east rurals

Share this article

Auchedly and Ythanbank SWRI president Sue Hall welcomed members and friends to the April meeting and thanked the committee and members for their help and support during the year.

Business was discussed for forthcoming events, she then handed over to the ladies from Collieston SWRI to present the trophies to competition prizewinners.

Housewives cup: Lil Emslie, handicrafts cup: Doreen Gray, flower cup: Dot Duncan, miscellaneous cup: Ellenor Gray.

Collieston ladies provided entertainment with readings, relaxation with music and competitions.

New committee: president: Sue Hall, vice-president: Margot Airth, secretary: Lil Emslie, treasurer: Dot Duncan, press secretary: Mabel Mitchell, raffle and competitions: Rena Davidson, tea convenor: Mabel Stott.

Monthly competition winners: flower from the garden: 1. Sue Hall 2. Dot Duncan 3. Alicia Johnston; Meat roll: 1. Dot Duncan. Knitted item from BS Schedule: 1. Alicia Johnston.

Rena Davidson and Mabel Mitchell were tea hostesses, while Sue Hall proposed the vote of thanks.

Cairnorrie SWRI president Doris Thomson welcomed all to the April business meeting, including Cruden Bay SWRI. Business was dealt with and the Cruden Bay ladies conducted the rest of the evening.

Cup for most points, the handicrafts and baking trophies were all won by Ethel Stanger. Runner-up trophy was won by Jean Milne. The Traditional and Floral Trophies were won by Isabella Buchan. Then the ladies gave us an enjoyable evening of songs, demonstration, recitations, a sketch and solo singing. The competitions were judged as follows: Easter Biscuits 1st Doris Thomson; Decorated Hard Boiled Egg 1st Pat Mennie.

New committee: president Janice Stephen; vice-president Margaret Paterson; secretary Pat Mennie; treasurer Isobel Dalgarno; raffles/magazines Jean Milne; press/competitions Sandra Jaffrey; teas Ethel Stanger; entertainment Margaret Paterson.