Boundary change plans on display

REVISED proposals for UK Parliament constituencies in Scotland can now be viewed in Aberdeenshire.

The Boundary Commission has published its proposals as part of its sixth review, and after considering all responses to the initial proposals in October, 2011.

Parliament has decided to reduce the number of UK Parliament constituencies from 650 to 600. In Scotland this means there will be 52 constituencies instead of 59.

Other than the Western Isles, and Orkney and Shetland, constituencies must each have between 72,180 and 80,473 electors, and must not exceed the permitted area of 13,000 square kilometres.

In the Aberdeenshire and Angus Council areas, the revised proposals include small changes to the boundaries in the initial proposals of Banff and Buchan constituency, Deeside and Gordon constituency, and Angus East and Kincardine constituency to reflect local ties.

The revised plans can be found at the following locations until Wednesday, November 7, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen (main reception area), Formartine Area Office, 29 Bridge Street, Ellon and Garioch Area Office, Gordon House, Inverurie.