Election for Community Council

editorial image

An election is to be held for the re-established Ellon Community Council next week.

A total of 22 nominations were received for the 12 places available by close of nominations, however two candidates have since withdrawn leaving 20 candidates in the running.

Anyone over the age of 16 who lives in Ellon and who is on the electoral register will be invited to vote for the 12 people they would like to represent them on the Community Council.

The vote will be held at the Buchan Hotel on Tuesday, September 19. Voters can visit the polling station between 6pm and 8pm.

It is hoped that the count will take place afterwards with the successful candidates announced on the night.

Returning officer and Formartine Area Manager Elaine Brown said: “Community councils represent the views of local communities and act on their behalf. They are a crucial element in the democratic process.

“It is therefore great to see so many people in Ellon want to help and represent the community they live in.

“I would urge those who live in Ellon to come out and vote on September 19 for who they want to see on Ellon Community Council.”

As well as representing the community to the local authority, Community Councils facilitate a wide range of activities which promote the well-being of their communities.

Community Councils can advise, petition, influence and advocate numerous causes on behalf of local communities.

The 20 candidates are: Ghassan Al-Hassani, Carron Boardman, Scott Bremner, Frederick Bristo, Craig Davis, Janet Dickinson, Alan Forrest, Julianna-Maria Gorska, Michael Jennings, Ian Arthur Killicoat, Leah Matthew, Marie McAllister, David McCulloch, Michael Morton, Bruce Robertson, George Stewart, Claire Tawse, Bruce Wymer, Carla Zambonini and Jessica Zanoni.