Salmond takes his seat at Westminster

Alex Salmond is back in Westminster with a promise to represent every voice in Gordon.

The former SNP leader swept to victory in the constituency, which had been a Liberal Democrat stronghold for more than 30 years.

Lib Dem candidate Christine Jardine was second, polling 8687 fewer votes.

The Nationalists secured all six North-east seats in an astonishing election night in which they won 56 of Scotland’s 59 constituencies.

Mr Salmond has pledged to be a strong voice for progressive politics and to work hard to represent the interests of people across Gordon, no matter how they voted last Thursday.

He said: “The people of Gordon have placed their trust in me to provide a strong voice at Westminster, to speak up for progressive politics and to work to bring austerity to an end.

“I pledge to repay that trust by working hard to protect the interests of people living in Gordon every step of the way and to work together with our group of 56 SNP MPs to ensure that Scotland’s voice is heard loudly and clearly.

“I will ensure that I live up to the expectations of every person who voted for me, and I will work hard to win the trust of those who did not.”

Meanwhile, the SNP’s Dr Eilidh Whiteford retained Banff and Buchan with an increased majority.

Dr Whiteford polled 27,487 votes - well ahead of her nearest rival Conservative candidate Alex Johnstone with 13,148.

She said: “I’m truly humbled. Thank you to everyone who voted for me and my brilliant campaign team - and I’ll do all in my power to work for our people and communities.”

Meanwhile, another long-serving Lib Dem MP fell victim to the SNP tide in West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine.

Sir Robert Smith, who had served for 18 years, lost to Stuart Donaldson, 23, son of Holyrood public health minister Maureeen Watt. He said he would work to help create jobs in the area.

Aberdeenshire results:


(73.3% turnout, 58,223 votes cast)

Alex Salmond (SNP): 27,717

Christine Jardine (Scottish Liberal Democrats): 19,030

Colin Clark (Scottish Conservative and Unionist): 6,807

Braden Davy (Scottish Labour Party): 3,441

Emily Santos (UKIP)): 1,166

Banff and Buchan

(66.7% turnout, 45,741 votes cast)

Eilidh Whiteford (SNP): 27,487

Alex Johnstone (Scottish Conservative and Unionist): 13,148

Sumon Hoque (Scottish Labour Party): 2,647

David Evans (Scottish Liberal Democrats): 2,347

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

(75.2%, 55,236 votes)

Stuart Donaldson (SNP): 22,949

Alexander Burnett (Scottish Conservative and Unionist): 15,916

Robert Smith (Scottish Liberal Democrats): 11,812

David Lansdell (UKIP): 1,006

Richard Openshaw (Scottish Green Party): 885

Graham Reid (Independent): 141