Tipperty SWRI meeting

The October meeting of Tipperty SWRI was opened by president Mrs Isobel Elrick who welcomed members and guest for the evening Mr Yeoman Smith.

With the secretary’s minutes, treasurer’s report and current business taken care of, Isobel handed over to Mr Smith.

He explained to the meeting that after a long career in the police force he now works as a ‘questioned document examiner’.

Samples of members’ handwriting were examined by Mr Smith and he pointed out how they had formed letters in different ways and why this is so useful when identifying documents and taking his findings to court.

A very interesting evening was brought to a close with a quiz compiled by Mr Smith.

Much appreciated tea and homebakes were served before the raffle was drawn.

Mr Smith judged the monthly competitions with results as follows:

Hand written envelope - 1st Isobel Elrick; 2nd Lorraine Hay; 3rd Moreen Annand.

4 Truffles - 1st Irene Bartlet; 2nd Joyce Catto; 3rd Marion Duncan.

Mrs Andrea Elrick-Stewart gave the vote of thanks to Mr Smith, tea hostesses and everyone who brought raffle prizes.

Isobel closed the meeting by reminding everyone about a change of venue for the next meeting.

November is a milestone for Tipperty SWRI with it being the institute’s Diamond Jubilee.

To mark the occasion, a celebration will be held at the Station Hotel in Ellon where a meal and entertainment provided.

Members should meet in the lounge at 6pm.