Auchterellon young footballers’ trophy evening

Prize-winners at the Auchterellon Girls and Boys Club trophy night.
Prize-winners at the Auchterellon Girls and Boys Club trophy night.

Auchterellon Girls and Boys Football Club recently held their 34th 
presentation event.

Jonathan Cordiner, deputy head of Auchterellon Primary School, and Irene Bonner, chair of Auchterellon Community Club, handed over the awards.

Manager and coach Eddie Bicocchi said the club’s main aim had always been to get local youngsters out and about enjoying a little light training and a kick-about.

He also thanked Jim Patterson and Steve McKessick for their help over 
recent years.

Irene Bonner received an award for her many years of voluntary service to the Auchterellon community. She has run the 
youth club for more than 
20 years.

A new trophy, the I Smollet Memorial Cup, has been donated to the club by Ian’s family. lan played for AFC in the late 80’s along with many of his primary 
school friends.

He was a speedy forward and scored several goals and helped the club towards 
winning trophies in the old Central Grampian 
Boys League.

His daughters Zoe and Ailsa presented the cup to Ryan Gordon, regarded by the manager as having great skills and potential.

The trophy winners are:

Girls Squad - AGFC Shield - training points - winner Charlie Masson; runner-up Beth Andrew; AGFC Trophy - player of the year - winner Beth Andrew; AGFC Trophy - manger’s player - winner Charlie Masson.

Boys P3-5 - Colin Brown Shield - training points - winner Ryan Lawrence; runner-up James Morton; ABFC Trophy - player of year - winner Aidan Cruickshank; Henderson Trophy - manager’s player - winner 
Devon Duguid.

Boys P6-7 - E Bicocchi Shield - training points - winner A Bartlet; runner-up Lewis Taylor; G Aitken Trophy - player of the year - winner Lewis Taylor; R and L Watson Trophy - manager’s player - winner Ross 
Fraser; ABFC Trophy - best all-round - winner Calum Gammack.

Overall Club Trophies - R Chalmers Trophy - most improved - winner James Morton; S and M Trophy - most promising newcomer - winner Finn Gordon; best goalkeeper - within the club - winner Beth Andrew; I Smollet Memorial Cup - winner Ryan Gordon.

Mr Cordiner closed the evening on behalf of the school, parents and youngsters by thanking Eddie for his hard work and dedication over the many years and his continuing involvement with the club.