Formartine in cup fightback

Michael Ewen netted his 18th goal of the season against Strathspey.
Michael Ewen netted his 18th goal of the season against Strathspey.
Share this article

FORmartine United battled back from a goal down to defeat Forres Mechanics 3-1 in the Breedon Aggregates Highland League Cup at Mosset Park on Saturday.

A Mike Ewen double helped to secure United’s place in the quarter-finals, when they face a trip to Brora Rangers.

Formartine started strongly and little more than a minute in, some quick-fire interchanging between Bagshaw and Munro ended when the latter had his heels clipped a yard or two short of the box. McKeown’s fiercely struck shot was on target and low as well but too close to keeper Knight to seriously trouble him.

Forres took the lead in the 24th minute following their fourth corner. McGovern struck it deep and well beyond the back stick where it was headed back by Fraser

to Moore who took it on the volley, back to goal with a bicycle kick that screamed into the top left corner of the net.

United kept pressing and drew level in the 36th minute. Quicksilver Mike Ewen darted between defenders and from a tightish angle and with laser-like precision he carefully placed the ball between the diving keeper’s outstretched left hand and the far post.

The second half belonged predominantly to Formartine whose short passing game mocked the treacherous underfoot conditions.

They deservedly took the lead when a pass back by Fraser lacked the force to get through the mud. Ewen was in like lightning, controlled the ball, drew the keeper and simply side-footed the ball into the empty net.

In the 86th minute, birthday boy McKeown made splendid amends for a horrific own goal on his previous visit to Mosset Park with a thundering headed third goal

Teams: Forres Mechanics: Knight,G. Fraser, Jones, Grant, S. Fraser, MacPherson, Archibald, Duguid, Moore, Scott, McGovern. Subs: MacIntosh, L.Fraser, Sharp, Howard, McGovern

Formartine United: Shearer, Jeffrey, S.Smith, McKeown, M.Smith, Donald, Munro, McVittie,, Park, Ewen, Bagshaw. Subs: Dingwall, Webster, Napier, Davidson, Campbell.