Locos Pride despite Cup exit

Annan Athletic will host Premiership side Hamilton Accies in the fourth round of the William Hill Scottish Cup after they defeated Inverurie Locos 1-0 in a postponed replay on Tuesday night.

Peter Weatherston’s goal just before half-time was enough to settle the tie after they had drawn 4-4 in a thrilling clash at Harlaw Park.

Playing on a 3G surface Locos suffered an early setback when Scott Begg picked up a yellow card in only four minutes before a shot from dangerman Weatherson was saved by Scott Mathieson.

The visitors got into the game and it was Andy Hunter, winning goalscorer against Edinburgh University as well as one of the scorers in the first game, sent in a firm drive in 12 minutes and then in a breakaway Martin Laing saw a cross fielded by the home keeper.

Locos had a lucky escape when Mathieson spilled a shot in mid-air and at the other end Kieran Adams saw his header go wide from Laing’s corner.

The Red and Blacks were now clearly in control, John Maitland having a shot blocked and captain marvel Neil McLean an effort saved.

Weatherson put Annan 1-0 up two minutes from half-time from a suspiciously offside position and McLean was cautioned shortly after. The referee showed his inconsistency allowing wild challenges on McLean and Hunter to go unpunished.

The second half saw Locos continue to show flair, a cross from McLean finding no takers and next up it was the keeper flapping at a Stephen Jeffrey shot that needed clearing.

It was a wide open game with Mathieson making two great saves. Late on Joe McCabe and Daniel Crisp replaced Begg and Jeffrey.

But late on all caution was thrown to the wind with two efforts from Locos hitting the bar, the second from Gordon Forsyth.

It was a brave attempt from Locos, the players doing themselves, their club and the Highland League proud. This Saturday it’s back to the bread and butter - a Gordon local derby at Harlaw Park, with Locos taking on Huntly. Kick-off is 3pm.

Inverurie Locos: Mathieson, Jeffrey, Forsyth, Begg, Adams, Souter, Laing, McLean, Hunter, Mitchell, Maitland. Substitutes: McCafferty, McCabe, Crisp, Anderson, Broadhurst.