United battle for victory

Neil McVitie slips the ball home following a pass from McKay (9).
Neil McVitie slips the ball home following a pass from McKay (9).
Share this article

Three goals in as many minutes in the second half helped seal Formartine United’s 4-3 home win over Nairn County on Saturday.

United bounced back from defeats by Turriff United and Fraserburgh and manager Steve Paterson was delighted by the response from his much-changed line-up.

The shake-up sparked a major talking point at North Lodge Park with club captain Craig McKeown left out of the squad and placed on the transfer list. Graham Hay has taken over the armband.

The opening stages were evenly-contested but it was Formartine who took the lead in the 27th minute with a well-worked move.

Neil McVitie broke at pace and after an exchange of passes, he sent the ball past the advancing keeper.

Nairn fought back and forced three quick corners which were confidently dealt with by the home defence.

But County grabbed the equaliser on the stroke of half-time when Gethins forced the ball over the line in a crowded goalmouth.

Into the second half and the visitors edged in front in the 62nd minute. Urquhart controlled a pass from the left to coolly slot home from 10 yards.

But the game was turned upside down in a few short minutes.

Madle levelled in the 67th minute with an accurate finish from close range.

United then took the lead when McKay was fed by Callum Dingwall and he hammered home a shot from 15 yards.

Shortly after it was 4-2 when Bagshaw, who was in top form, took advantage of a melee in the County box to fire home.

This completed a remarkable turn around for the new-look United and though Nairn pulled another back near the end, it could not take the shine off an encouraging home performance.


Formartine United: Watson, Duguid, Smith, Jeffrey, Hay, Bagshaw, Madle, McVitie, McKay, Anderson, Dingwall. Substitutes: Keith, Napier, Munro, Clark, Doak.

Nairn County: Antell, Webb, Main, Morrison, MacDonald, McIntosh, Halsman, Pollock, Gethins, Wilkie, Urquhart. Substiutes: Naismith, Duncanson, McLeod, Cameron, Murphy, McCallum.