Benachie Bowling Finals Day

The Benachie Bowling Association finals took place on President Finlay MacKintosh’s green at Newhills on Sunday (August 17).

The spectators were treated to some excellent bowling – commencing with glorious sunshine which later turned to heavy rain, making it difficult for the competitors.

The League Play-off followed the knock-out competitions which proved to be a very close game and could have gone either way, but Rothienorman managed to hold off Kintore by nine shots to win the league title.


Champion of Champions: I Ligertwood (Methlick) 17, W Minty (Tarves) 21; Singles: G Muir (Balgownie) 21, K Murray (Westhill) 15; Junior Singles: J Banks (Inverurie) 21, J Hoper (Insch) 6; Pairs: S Lonsdale, J Harper (Rothienorman) 24, I Whyte, J Whyte (Inverurie) 6; Triples: Jim Bruce, G MacDonald, C Banks (Inverurie) 7, C Beattie, S Simpson, S McDonald (Harlaw) 17; Fours: K Gray, M D Presly, A Duncan, Marshall Presly 22, M Stephen, W Stratton, G Stott, W Duncan (Newhills) 10; League Play-off Result: Kintore 49, Rothienorman 58 - (Kintore names first) I Wilson, G Spence, Jun. P Davidson 10, G Esslemont, N Esslemont, I Moir 13; H McIntosh, K Farquhar, G Spence, Sen 14, S Lonsdale, F Willox, J Nicol 13; C Heron, R Booth, D Fraser 13, G Sievewright, C Knox, M Campbell 12; R MacKenzie, D Walker, D Findlater 12, M Taylor, I Lonsdale, J Harper 20.