Ellon Gordon Cricket Club AGM and trophy night

Prize-winners at Ellon Gordon Cricket Club's AGM and presentation of trophies.
Prize-winners at Ellon Gordon Cricket Club's AGM and presentation of trophies.

Ellon Gordon Cricket Club held their AGM last Friday and presented trophies to those who had turned in the best performances during 2013 season.

From a club point of view it had been a rather disappointing one, after the highs of the previous season.

The 1st XI finished fifth in Grade 1 while the 2nd XI finished ninth in Grade 3 and will therefore be competing in Grade 4 next year as Grade 3 once again breaks up into two Grades. Some consolation was gained by the 2nd XI winning the Johnston Rose Bowl.

The winners of individual trophies were:

Moir Cup for 1st XI Batting - Stewart Davies with an average of 35.45; Fenton Trophy for 1st XI Bowling - Scott White with an average of 19.46; Ewen Cup for 2nd XI Batting-Chris Watson with an average of 42.27; Taylor Trophy for 2nd XI Bowling - Chris Watson with an average of 11.94; Barrett Jug for best batting average outwith the two winners - Ian Duncan with an average of 28.3; Thomas Trophy for fielding - Asad Waqar with an average of 0.8; Sebborn Trophy for best one-day bowling analysis - Chris Watson with 5 for 43; Geddes Trophy for best performances by an U-21 as chosen by the Management Committee - Hamish Paterson; Davis Cup for best 1st team performances as selected by the 1st XI Captain - Ben Webb. Geddes Plate for Clubman of the year as chosen by the Management Committee was shared between Chris Watson and Ean

Small momentos were also presented to the three who scored centuries during the past season.

One of those went to Tom Proctor for his double century 206 v 3rd Gordonians. This score was the highest ever recorded by an Ellon player.

Not far behind was Chris Watson with 159 v 2nd Kemnay /Kintore which also beat the previous highest score, while the third century scorer was Gareth Galt with 114 v 2nd Banchory.

The presentation was followed by the AGM with no unexpected problems being highlighted.

Vice-President Ian Duncan read out an obituary for Eric Thomson, who had died since the last AGM, and had been involved with the club for 50 years. A minute’s silence was observed.

The meeting ended with the electing of officials for the season ahead:

President: Hayden Barrett; Vice-President Ian Duncan; 1st XI Captain Scott White; 1st XI Vice Captain Stewart Davies; 2nd XI Captain Chris Watson; 2nd XI Vice Captain Lawrence Meikle; Secretary Huw Owen; Treasurer Ean Mackie; Match Secretary Stewart Davies; Team Secretary Chris Watson; Selection Committee Scott White; Chris Watson; Stewart Davies and Ean Mackie;

Management Committee Hayden Barrett; Ian Duncan; Huw Owen; Ean Mackie ;Chris Watson; Charles Woolrige Gordon; Scott White; Craig White; Brian Veldsman; Ross Wade and Fiona Campbell.

The meeting ended with the hope of having a more successful season next year.