Oldmeldrum bowling winners

Margaret Cruickshank, Grant Campbell, Kevin Farquhar and Michael Presly (Tarves) won the Oldmeldrum mixed fours event at the weekend with a comfortable 11-1 victory against Graeme Coutts’ (Kemnay) side in the final.

Earlier, they qualified for the knock-out stages with five wins out of five beating Jim Coutts (Dyce), Brian Reid (Oldmeldrum), Denis Helliwell (Insch), George Cruickshank (Cruden Bay) and Bill Tulloch (Peterhead). They then saw off Ian Western’s Oldmeldrum team in the semi-finals.

Tarves Bowling Club staged a new competition on Saturday and their “Top 5” tournament was a great success. Turriff Indoor took the honours after coming from behind to defeat Aberdeen & Kincardine Bowling Asscociation in the final.

The winning team was Kevin and Willie Beaton, Kevin and James Harper and Steve Wilson. The Runners up from A&K were Steven Fraser, Doug Fraser, Kevin and Steven Farquhar and Andy Duncan Jnr. Connor Milne and Michael Presly from Tarves ran a very successful tournament and hopefully this will be a permanent addition to the outdoor calendar. at day had by all.

The season at Ellon Bowling Club comes to a close on Sunday with the annual Secretary v Treasurer fixture. The action gets underway at 2.30pm and refreshments will be served prior to the match.