Another busy weekend for Ythan Cycling Club members

editorial image

Ythan CC had another solid set of results over the past week with some fine performances in both time trials and road racing.

Last Thursday saw the “Dig In and Rock On” road race, the start of which was generously hosted by Jamieson’s Quarry at Ardlethen.

After three loops of a circuit that took in Kinharrachie, Ythanbank and Ardlethen the race moved to the climb up Braemo to Drumwhindle before descending back towards Ythanbank with a finish near the reservoir west of Kinnacharie.

Deeside Thistle rider Mark Walker broke free of the peloton in the final run in to take a solo win with Sean Delaney (Deeside Thistle) taking second and Zak Loney (Team LFH) in third. The reduced bunch then followed along with various groups of riders with everyone soaked from the heavy rain that had started not long after the start.

With £300 raised on the evening for local charity Kayleigh’s Wee Stars, this first cycling event to be hosted at the prominent local business was a great success with riders giving favourable feedback on the race HQ and course.

Saturday saw four riders taking part in the Nick Hardy Memorial Road Race at Monikie Park, Dundee. Despite being a bright day, a stiff westerly wind and a brief period of heavy rain mid way through made for a tough race for Ythan’s Robbie Brown, Andy Scouller, Tom Gelati and Andrew Leith.

All four remained in the peloton when the winning break went away and after that the race began to split into various groups who then finished at various time gaps behind the winning break.

Robbie Brown finished 20th, Thomas Gelati 25th , Andy Scouller 36th Andy Scouller and Andrew Leith 41st as Ythan again showed a good presence in a road race outwith the North East.

Sunday saw the racing switch to Drumoak for the Aberdeen Wheelers promoted Classified 10TT and the race would see one of the fastest times ever ridden in the North East when Jon Entwhistle (Team JMC) recorded 20:04 for a course record and a clear win.

Ythan’s fastest on the day was Alan Smith with 22:38 followed by Colin Duncan in 22:39. Mike Giles was next for Ythan with a 23:44 with Malcolm Grant and Daryl Jackson both recording 24:01. Daniel Kain took the prize for first youth with a 24:44 with Cameron Brown recording a sub 30 time of 29:05 for 3rd Youth.