Ythan CC: Eddie Morgan Memorial, Scottish Track Championships & Massie Shield 25TT

editorial image

With no home based races on the calendar it was a quieter weekend than usual for Ythan CC but Chris Main made the trip to Perthshire and secured a 19th place finish at the Eddie Morgan Memorial RR in Perthshire.

This race is held on a lumpy circuit on tight roads and the Ythan rider produced another good ride to add to his growing list of road race performances this year.

Youth rider Fraser Gault was in Glasgow at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome where the Scottish Track Championships were being held and in his chosen event the Omnium, the same event that Mark Cavendish will ride in Rio later this summer, the Oldmeldrum rider rode to an excellent 6th place finish.

Although there were no North East races at the weekend, Ythan had hosted one of the most prestigious time trial events in the area last Wednesday when the Massie Shield 25TT took place on the Ellon-New Deer-Ellon course. Top time triallist Jon Entwhistle (Team JMC) produced another remarkable display of strength and power to record a time of 53m 15s which was over 3 minutes faster than runner up David Reed (Granite City RT). Colin Duncan was again to be the fastest Ythan rider with a time of 57m 46s with Alan Smith also going sub hour with 59m 56s. Aberdeen Wheelers claimed the Massie Shield which is awarded to the fastest team on the night.

This weekend sees the Ian Brodie Memorial 10m TT taking place at Drumoak where the fast course on the North and South Deeside roads will hopefully provide the Ythan contingent with the opportunity for some personal bests.

Massie Shield, Ellon 22/06/2016:

1 Jon Entwistle Team JMC V 0:53:15 1,

2 David Reed Granite City RT V 0:56:47 2,

3 Jordan Stronach Spokes Racing Team S 0:57:32 3,

4 Anthony French Deeside Thistle CC S 0:57:45 ,

5 Colin Duncan Ythan CC V 0:57:46 1st Vet.

6 Jamie Davidson Aberdeen Wheelers CC S 0:57:49 Massie Team

7 Brian Duncan Rapha Cycling Club S 0:57:51

8 Keith Robertson Granite City RT V 0:57:51 2nd Vet

9 Lee Smith Aberdeen Wheelers CC S 0:57:58 Massie Team

10 Michael Cheney Deeside Thistle CC V 0:59:26 3rd Vet.