Sun shines on Middleton Trust 10k & fun run

Share this article

GLORIOUS sunny weather greeted the runners as they lined up for the Middleton Trust 3k Fun Run and the 10k Road Race last Sunday.

The Trustees decided to stage the runs at an earlier time of late morning, instead of early afternoon, this year in the hope that they would attract more entrants, however but that didn’t appear to be the case with 116 lined up for the 3k as against 104 last year, and 47 runners competing in the 10k compared to 2011’s 54.

The overall winner of the 10k was Ronald Gauld in a time of 34.47, whilst the first lady home was Ellon runner Fiona Anderson in a time of 45.34. The runners up to both were Jeremy Whittett - last year’s winner from Keith and District - in a time of 36.28 and Maureen MacInnes, of Garioch Road Runners, in a time of 46.15.

The team shields for the 10k event were both retained by last year’s winners Sandra’s Planks. The make up of the team was Fiona Anderson; John Kidd and Charles Daniels once again.

The overall winner of the 3k was local youngster Matthew Keenan in a time of 11.01 - just over a minute ahead of second placed Neil Rattray in 12.07. The first lady home was also an Ellon youngster, Cara Bewick, who finished second last year, in a time of 12.37, with another youngster from Ellon - Kelly McLeod - in second place in 13.05.

The family winners were Craig and Maisie Sharp in a combined time of 27.58.

The Primary school shields were both retained by last year’s winners Auchterellon and Slains.

Auchterellon won the school 150 + race, with Cameron Bain; Kelly McLeod and Ella Murray representing their primary, while Fraser Macleod; Ewan Bloor and Lauren Sinclair made up the Slains team for the under 150 roll shield.

Last year’s winners of the Local Team Shield, Watson’s Kids, did so again with the same team of Zac, Joshua and Coral Watson while the Overall Team Shield was won by Cammie’s Sharp Clan consisting of Cameron Bain; Maisie Sharp and Kai Sharp.

The Trustees were disappointed in not being able to attract an overall sponsor for this year’s event, having lost the one they had for the previous few years, however the Middleton Trust are indebited to Power Jacks; Costcutters and Sangs, of Macduff for what soponsorship they did receive.

Thanks are also due to the local cadet squadron, who once again carried out the stewarding duties for both events along with the one or two individuals who volunteered to help on the day.

The full list of winners is as follows:

10K overall winner - Ronald Gauld 24.47

Runner up - Jeremy Whittet 36.28, Keith & District - last years winner

Third - Paul Mills 39.02

Fourth - Martin Burns 39.53, 51 seconds faster than last year

Fifth - John Roberston 40.00 Peterhead Running Club

First Lady - Fiona Anderson 45.34

Runner up - Maureen MacInnes 46.15 Garioch Road Runners

Third - Julie Hutchison 53.52

Fourth - Adele Mottram 54.55

Fifth - Carline Kemp 56.17

Male veteran - Jeremy Whittett 36.28

Female veteran - Fiona Anderson 45.34

Male Superveteran - John Robertson 40.00 Peterhead Running Club

Female superveteran - Maureen MacInnes 46.15

The first male under 30 home was Warren Thomson in a time of 49.25 whilst the first under 30 lady over the line was Louise Carson in a time of 1hour 51 sec.

Overall 3k Winner - Matthew Keenan 11.01

Runner up - Neil Rattray 12.07

Third - Shaun Massie 12.21

Fourth - Craig Sharp 12.23

Fifth - Philip Astley 12.24

First lady in 3k - Cara Bewick 12.37 last years runner up

Runner up - Kelly McLeod 13.05

Third - Ella Murray 14.20

Fourth - Mia McFarlane 14.22

Fifth - Lauren Duncan 14.43

School results

Auchterellon- Kelly McLeod 13.05

Slains - Fraser MacLeod 12.43

Ellon Primary - Zac Watson 15.47

Foveran Elidh Pirie 16.32

Newburgh - James MacIntosh 13.50

Meiklemill - Callum Carnie 16.57

Kintore - Samuel White 18.29

Balmedie - Mia McFarlane 14.22

New Deer - Ross Chalmers 14.42

Fyvie - Ben Chalmers 15.46

U-7 Boy - Murray Leuchars 16.59

U-7 Girl - Anna Brown 17.33

U-9 Boy - Ross Chalmers 14.42 New Deer

U-9 Girl - Mia McFarlane 14.22 Balmedie

U-11 Boy - Fraser Macleod 12.43 Slains

U-11 Girl - Ella Murray 14.20 Ellon

U-13 Boy - Murdo McNamee 13.09

U-13 Girl - Cara Bewick 12.37 Ellon

U-15 Boy - Matthew Keenan 11.01 Ellon

U-15 Girl - Maisie Sharp 15.35 Elon

U-17 Boy - Neil Rattray 12.07

U-17 Girl - Vicki Cruickshanks 16.48, Ellon - last year’s first lady

O-17 Male - Sean Massie 12.21

O-17 Female - Karollin Brown 17.35

Family winners - Craig- 12.23 and Maisie Sharp -15.35

Overall team winners - Cammie’s Sharp Clan, Cameron Bain; Maisie Sharp and Kai Sharp

Local team winners - Watson Kids, Zac; Joshua and Coral Watson

Primary School winners: 150+ pupils - Auchterellon - Kelly McLeod; Ella Murray and Cameron Bain

under 150 roll winners: Slains - Fraser Macleod; Ewan Bloor and Lauren Sinclair