Ythan CC host first road event of 2017

Ythan CC hosted its first road event of 2017 with the Ythan Valley APR taking place last Sunday and as with the rest of the North East the race was greeted by warm spring weather and light winds.

Wednesday, 29th March 2017, 11:47 am
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 6:36 pm

With five ability based groups setting off at different times the aim of the format was for the faster riders to chase down the slower riders who set off from Jamieson’s Quarry at Ardlethen.

The race came together not long after the start of the second lap of three as the remainder of the 3rd and 4th groups combined but not before a number of riders were dropped from their initial groups by the fast pace and the steep slope of Raxton on the back end of the course.

With a closed road finish within the generous host venue of Jamieson’s Quarry the lead group contested a sprint with visiting rider Donald MacRury (Moray Firth CC) taking the win from Deeside Thistles Stuart Gray and Karl Daly whilst Ythan secured three top ten spots through Andrew Leith, Andrew Scouller and Alan Smith respectively.

Saturday had seen Ythan riders in action in two very different events with siblings Matthew and Isabella Smith taking part in the youth races at Mineralwell Park, Stonehaven and senior rider Thomas Gelati in Northhumberland at the Reivers Road Race.

All three would perform well with Isabella finishing 2nd Girl in the U6 category with her older brother Matthew securing a bunch finish on what was a testing grassland course.

Gelati was up against a quality field in he North of England and a 21st place finish would show that his 2017 form will be on par if not better than in 2016.

This Sunday will see Ythan promote the Bob Souter Memorial 10m TT which will also incorporate the annual presentation for the North East District.

Ythan CC - Ythan Valley APR: 1 Donald MacRury MFCC, 2 Stuart Gray DTCC, 3 Karl Daly DTCC, 4 Ian Flett DTCC, 5 Andrew Leith Ythan CC, 6 Jody Hall DTCC, 7 Dan Saunders DTCC, 8 Andrew Scouller Ythan CC, 9 Marc Roberts Elgin CC, 10 Alan Smith Ythan CC.