Ythan Cycle Club hosts its annual prize-giving

Ythan Cycle Club held its annual presentation evening at the Aberdeen Arms, Tarves '¨on Saturday.

Friday, 2nd March 2018, 2:23 pm
Updated Friday, 2nd March 2018, 2:27 pm

Members from the junior, youth and adult sections of the club gathered to celebrate their achievements across a multitude of disciplines, from road racing to triathlons.

For the 10 mile confined time trial held on the Ard-lethen course the prizewinners were: 1st Brian Goldring, 2nd Steve McBain, 3rd (youth) Mac Leven, 4th (ladies) Yvonne Winter, 5th Jim Jamieson.

The fastest veteran was Alan Smith with a time of 22 minutes, 44 seconds, while fastest senior and U16 were Jordan Stronach (22:17) and Mac Leven (37:21) respectively.

Kath Thomson was awarded the trophy for fastest lady after completing the course in 27:55, while the fastest vintage club member was Paul Winter with a time of 32:47.

In the open TT category the prizes for ladies veteran and ladies champion both went to Tarves’ Carol Middleton, while the men’s veteran champion and club champion titles were won by Mike Giles.

The QL coaches (Colin Allanach, Carol Middleton and Alan Smith) were collectively presented with the club’s merit award for their significant contribution to developing the cycling skills of the younger members of the club.

The junior road race champion was Matthew Smith (age 9) of Ellon, while the title of senior road race champion went to Oldmeldrum’s Thomas Gelati.

Husband and wife Claire and Sean Murphy collectively scooped the triathlon award, and Mike Giles added to his trophy haul with the mountain bike/cyclocross champion prize.

Finally, the winner of the overall youth prize was Daniel Kain.

Chairman Donald Stewart said: “Ythan’s trophies recognise our fastest riders across multiple disciplines, and reflect long-term commitment to training and competing. 

“Our confined series of time trials specifically rewards consistency, commitment and sheer determination, and it’s fantastic that the results reflect the efforts of Brian, Steve, Mac, Yvonne and Jim.

“It’s a privilege to have presented all of these Ythan trophies.

“There are things, however, which we don’t hand out shiny awards for, but which should nonetheless be recognised.  

“Every week, Ythan riders head out to challenge themselves in pursuit of personal goals; their efforts demanding at least as much determination, strength and courage as our fastest riders need to compete.

“Even if these efforts never result in a podium place or silverware on the mantelpiece, every personal best or goal achieved deserves recognition, and I’m proud that so many of these riders choose to challenge themselves with Ythan Cycle Club.”

Although the road racing season has yet to kick off, club members have been proving their mettle in cyclocross races across some very cold, wet and muddy fields in recent weeks.

Mike Giles came 14th in round six of the Scottish Cyclocross at Strathclyde Country Park on Sunday February 4.

Both Mike and Carol Middleton travelled to the Black Isle Showground in Muir of Ord for round four of the Scottish North Cyclocross series on Saturday February 17, with Carol finishing as fourth placed female, and third in her category.

Mike came third in his race, and was in action again the following day, last Sunday, in Avoch in the Burnside Wood Cyclocross race.

The club had four representatives in the Inverurie Duathlon, also on Sunday: Sean Murphy, Claire Murphy, Craig Macbeath and Scott Gray.

The next event on Ythan’s calendar is the Haddo Dirt Crit, which takes place on the Haddo House estate on Saturday March 3.