Ythan Cycle Club news

Share this article

Ythan Cycling Club’s riders are showing no signs of slowing down, at home or abroad, even if the 2012 season prepares to a close in two weeks time at the Aberdeen and District Time Trial Championships at Garlogie.

Fresh from a frustrating but memorable Paralympics, Fiona Duncan headed to Northern France for the European Police Cycling Championships where she won the bronze medal in the individual time trial finishing only 16 seconds behind gold medallist Marie Laure Cloarec-Mathis (France), who had recently completed the women’s Tour de France and the silver medallist Caroline Ryan (Ireland). On Sunday, whilst her Paralympic and Ythan colleagues Neil Fachie and Lora Turnham thrilled the crowds at the local Olympic parades, Duncan lined up for the 83km road race which failed to ignite until the finish with the leaders coming together as the end of the race approached. Duncan made several attempts at getting away from the bunch without success and into the final 1km uphill finish Cloarec-Mathis attacked with Duncan following her wheel but they both faded as the line came up. However, the Ellon rider dug deep and went again but that long drag finish caused a real ebb and flow in the sprint and eventually Sandra Fitzgerald (Ireland) took the win, with Cloarec second. Duncan finished 6th with her GB team-mate Michelle Evans, 7th. A fantastic season for one of Scotland’s most talented women cyclists and one that could not have been more appropriate during the Ythan’s 25th Anniversary Year.

Also on the international front, Ythan youth Zak Loney made his debut at the Inter Regional Track Championships at Newport and along with his Scottish colleagues found the standard of riding to be very high with the UKs top youth talent on show. Loney made a great start in his first Inter Regional event to finish 17th in the sprint winning all three of his matches. On the Saturday an injury saw Scotland’s Sean Noon, who recently starred at the Ellon Town Centre races, withdrawn from the event leaving Zak to step up and help the team by posting 16th Place in the sprint race and the boys and girls efforts saw Scotland lying in 10th place going into the final day. Sunday saw the Scottish team’s line up for the team sprint and team pursuits but the day had a poor start after the girls were disqualified for an illegal change, the same issue that dented Victoria Pendleton’s opening race at the London Olympics last month. The boys though, took on the task of keeping Scotland with Loney recording a first split of 21.195 making way for Hamish Carrick and Stuart Balfour to take Scotland home in a time of 54.408 placing them 10th. The team pursuits saw the girl’s team finish 7th before the three Scottish boys, hindered by the loss of Noon, recorded a creditable 11th and securing an overall finish of 10th Place. Loney can now look forward at winding down his season before concentrating on a winter of training to prepare for his step up to junior level in 2013.

Back home, last weekend kicked off with the Aberdeen and District Hill Climb Championships at Cairn Mon Earn with Ythan junior Wojciech Kosciuszko finishing 10th Overall and 2nd Junior.

ADCA Hill Climb Championships, Cairn Mon Earn 16/09/2012

1) Liam Cowie Endura-Pedal Power 00:03:53

2) Craig Wallace Granite City RT 00:03:54

3) David Anderson Deeside Th CC 00:04:06

10) Wojciech Kosciuszko Ythan CC 00:04:43

Sunday saw the majority of the clubs riders at the Aberdeen Wheelers Classified 10 mile time trial at Drumoak. A huge field of 82 assembled in fine autumn weather which promised and thereafter delivered a spate of personal bests. The event is based not only on the time that riders record but also how it compares with other riders of similar ability with the field split into 7 classifications.

Fastest Ythan rider on the day was Malcolm Grant who recorded his fastest time for three years with 23m 48s securing 24th place overall and 2nd place in his classified section. Youth rider Craig Ward also recorded a sub 24 minute time of 23m 56s. Russell Craig marked his return to racing with a solid 24m 39s to win his classification and Bill Bavidge also won his classification by recording 25m 08s. All in all the event was saw Ythan blue right across the results board with Lewis Goodlad and Luke Allan also winning their youth categories.

Aberdeen Wheelers Classified 10TT Drumoak 17/09/2012

1 Philip Kelman Deeside Thistle CC 00:20:48

2 Stephen Cairns Perth United Cycling Club 00:21:23

3 Craig Wallace Granite City RT 00:21:34

24 Malcolm Grant Ythan CC 00:23:48

27 Craig Ward Ythan CC 00:23:56

38 Russell Craig Ythan CC 00:24:39

49 Bill Bavidge Ythan CC 00:25:08

50 Andy Duncan Ythan CC 00:25:19

50 James West Ythan CC 00:25:19

52 Jordan Stronach Ythan CC 00:25:23

63 Graham Ward Ythan CC 00:26:36

65 David Carnegie Ythan CC 00:26:48

66 Carol Middleton Ythan CC 00:26:52

71 Lewis Goodlad Ythan CC 00:27:43

76 Yvonne Winter Ythan CC 00:33:31

77 Luke Allan Ythan CC 00:33:39

78 Hamish Cooper Ythan CC 00:33:52

79 Joel Bavidge Ythan CC 00:35:43

Category Winners

Cat F~ Bill Bavidge Ythan CC 25:08

Cat H~ Russ Craig Ythan CC 24:39

Youth A ~ Craig Ward Ythan CC 23:56

Youth B~ Lewis Goodlad Ythan CC 27:43

Youth C~ Luke Allan Ythan CC 35:39

This weekend sees four Ythan riders, the Ythanites, who are Robert Hill, Mike Giles, Graham Parley and Mike Harper take on the “Ride the North” challenge between Inverness and Aberdeen to raise funds for the Maggies Cancer Support Appeal. The event, which covers 164 miles in two days, should be a stern test as it makes it way from the Highland capital to the Granite City and anyone who would like to support the Ythan riders can visit